Speech Round #1

  1. First Speech

I wrote the first speech of Round 1 about my family tradition of hanging an ornament on our Christmas tree every year. Leading up to the speech, I was super nervous that I would mess up, freeze, or go on a tangent or something weird, however it went better than expected. Looking back at my speech, I noticed that I did my best to keep a steady flow and made it interesting by using voice inflections and light humor throughout. However my voice did have a very irritating hoarse tone that struck me as pretty distracting. In addition, I think I could’ve transitioned between my topics in a smoother way as my speech seemed somewhat choppy at certain points. In addition, it came across as if I was reading off of the paper, so I will work on speaking in a more extemporaneous fashion.

Feedback for Speech 1:

IMG_0607 (1).jpg

Link for Speech 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n28DOEqzmig&index=31&list=UUss8lzeg4Lro3ihtlubAf0Q

2. Speech #2

For my second speech, I performed an oral interpretation of a passage from On the Road by Jack Kerouac. While looking back at the video of the speech, I noticed that I was not making as much eye contact as I thought I was during the actual speech. I think I was so focused on saying the right words and delivering them well that I forgot to connect with the audience through eye contact. In addition, I think I could’ve spoken the introduction and conclusion in a more extemporaneous tone to make the change between the introduction and the passage more dramatic. However, I really liked the passage I chose and thought I added the appropriate amount of emotion to it.

Feedback for Speech 2:

IMG_0607.jpg

Link for Speech 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZaDdKdyGrS0&index=12&list=UUss8lzeg4Lro3ihtlubAf0Q

Leave a comment