My Goals In Coms 101

 

  1. I wish to become more comfortable speaking in a formal setting in front of a group of people.
    1. https://www.mindtools.com/CommSkll/PublicSpeaking.htm
    2. https://www.inc.com/larry-kim/15-power-up-tips-to-make-you-a-better-presenter.html
  2. I would like to improve my speech delivery and organization in order to make a stronger argument.
    1. http://www.publicwords.com/2011/09/06/5-quick-ways-to-organize-a-speech/
    2. https://unclutterer.com/2011/07/18/thirteen-tips-for-giving-a-well-organized-and-informative-speech/
    3. https://www.extension.harvard.edu/professional-development/blog/10-tips-improving-your-public-speaking-skills

 

This quarter, I wish to become more comfortable speaking in a formal setting in front of a group of people. Although I identify as an extrovert in most social situations, I often become nervous and freeze up when I’m giving class presentations or delivering speeches that I haven’t memorized. According to Mindtools.com, using breathing exercises before speaking slows heart rate and gives our body the energy it needs to perform under pressure. In high school, I always used breathing exercises during close volleyball games and before I gave presentations or speeches to my classmates. I will definitely utilize this tool this quarter by practicing deep breathing before I deliver my speeches. In addition, I’m also going to practice visualization before my speeches. According to Inc.com, studies show that utilizing positive visualization before a speech leads to a better speech outcome. During the days leading up to the speech, I will envision myself delivering a strong, authentic and composed speech.

In addition, I would like to improve my speech delivery and organization in order to make a stronger argument. Organization is key in delivering an effective speech. According to Dr. Nick Morgan, one of America’s top public speaking coaches, its important to change the organization of the speech depending upon what the speaker is talking about. For example, if I’m talking about an issue we face as a society, I should introduce that topic first, then discuss its solutions and its pros and cons. However, this would not be an effective organization method if I were explaining a childhood story or delivering a “how-to” speech. When I’m writing my speeches, I will identify the purpose of the speech and build my organization pattern around that. In addition, its important to cater the speech towards the audience’s interests. Unclutterer.com explains that “You’re not trying to impress them, you’re there to help them. You’re a teacher, not a promoter.” Although I am neither a teacher nor a promoter, I will make sure to write about things that hopefully everyone in the class will find interesting or intriguing. By phrasing my purpose statements in a way that relates to everyone, I will hopefully attract the audiences attention. Additionally, in order to truly engage the audience, its important to allow my personality to show. According to Harvard University, speakers “establish better credibility” with the audience if their personalities shine through. In English 134 last quarter, I made a point to incorporate my personality into my writing style. This quarter, I will continue do this by implementing authentic jokes or phrases that show my personality throughout my speeches (when appropriate).

Leave a comment